You are here
Home > Hive Parliament > INEC: Senate confirms 15 REC commissioners

INEC: Senate confirms 15 REC commissioners

Nigeria’s senate has confirmed the appointment of 15 resident electoral commissioners (RECs) out of the 27 nominees sent by President Muhammadu Buhari on March 23.

The chairman of the senate committee on INEC, Suleiman Nazif, while presenting his report to the upper chamber said the other 12 nominees were still undergoing screening and they would be confirmed when the committee complete their screening.

Nazif said all the 27 nominees have also been cleared by security agencies.

The confirmed nominees are

Godswill Obioma, Abia (new appointment)

Ahmed Makama, Bauchi (reappointment)

James Apam, Benue (new appointment)

Nwachukwu Orji, Ebonyi (new appointment)

Iloh Chuks, Enugu (new appointment)

Nentawe Yilwada, Plateau (new appointment)

Umar Ibrahim, Taraba (new appointment)

Emeka Joseph, Imo (new appointment)

Obo Effanga, Cross River (new appointment)

Francis Ezeonu, Anambra (new appointment)

Briyai Frankland, Bayelsa (new appointment)

Ibrahim Abdullahi, Adamawa (new appointment)

Agboke Olaleke, Ogun (new appointment)

Hussaini Pai, FCT (reappointment)

Sadiq Musa, Kaduna (reappointment)


Solomon Obende
Solomon Obende is a graduate of Public Administration from the prestigious Ambrose Alli University who is passionate about communications for development. He is proficient in crafting effective social media strategies. He listens to Jimmy Cliff's songs daily.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.