You are here
Home > Politics > INEC releases full list of presidential,Senatorial and House of Rep candidates

INEC releases full list of presidential,Senatorial and House of Rep candidates

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates eligible to participate in the forthcoming general election.

The list contains the names of candidates for the presidential, senatorial, House of Representatives and state Houses of Assemblies.

The information was contained on the verified Twitter handle of the Commission, @inecnigeria.

The presidential candidates’ list features 144 names comprising parties’ presidential candidates and their running mates.

The Social Democratic Party (SDP) did not present presidential candidate or running mate for the election, as two persons –- a former Minister of Information, Jerry Gana; and a former Governor of Cross River State, Mr. Donald Duke — are laying claim to the ticket.

Gana has been recognised by the courts, but he has not been accepted by his party.

On the other hand, Duke has been ousted by the courts but remains the acceptable candidate to the party.

There are 28 women on the list as either the candidate or the running mate.

The youngest candidate is the 30-year-old Johnson Omede, a vice presidential candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party.

A total of 72 presidential candidates and another 72 vice presidential candidates are expected to run for the presidential election.

Others whose names appeared on the list include President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, who are the candidates of the All Progressives Congress; former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, and former Governor Peter Obi of Anambra State who are the presidential and vice presidential candidates, respectively, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Others include Dr. Oby Ezekwesili of the Allied Peoples Movement of Nigeria (APMN); Mr. Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress (AAC); Mr. Kingsley Moghalu of the Young Progressives Party (YPP); Mr. Sina Fagbenro-Byron of the KOWA Party; and Mr. Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN).

Others include Mr. Obadaiah Mailafia of the African Democratic Congress (ADC); Mrs. Eunice Atuejide of the National Interest Party (NIP), among several others.

Presidential Candidates List

Senatorial Candidates List

House of Rep List


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.